The Lab Story

In my college, when you get into the 5th year, you will have to conduct a research on a theme given by lecturers of your department. This research thing is equal to FYP(final year project) in Malaysian universities but here we call it 卒業研究(Graduation Research/Thesis). At the beginning of the 5th year, everyone would compete with each other to go to their desired labs because it is on first come first serve basis. For me, I chose to go under my 熱力学(Thermal Dynamics) lecturer, which made me belonged to the 熱研究室(Thermal Laboratory).

In the Thermal Lab, there 3 themes all of them, Design & Manufacturing of Steam Locomotive, Design & Manufacturing of Indoor Flying Robot and the one that I did, Solar Desalination of Sea Water. For the 2 first themes, you would have to do them alone, while for my research theme, I have another Japanese partner with me, which was the main reason I chose it as I thought that it would be hard to write the thesis later all by myself. Eventually, he did become a helpful one, as he did help correct my Japanese during the thesis writing.

.

Steam Locomotive engine

.

Indoor Flying Robot

.

Solar Desalination apparatus

.

We have the whole 5th year to conduct our research, and at the end of the 5th year, we will have a presentation session on our research in front of the all the lecturers. I think that each and everyone of my classmates including me and my partner did conducted our experiments and so on throughout the year, but when it comes to the thesis part, everyone only started writing them 1 week before the deadline day. That was the time when  I learned that it is a “culture” of the Mechanical students doing everything last minute, and it happens every single year. If you thought that it happens only among us, the students, no you`re wrong. The lecturers are the same okay.-no offense-

We went working really hard during that last 1 week finishing all the thesis and presentation slides, scripts and so on. During that 1 week, Thermal Lab became the ‘home’ for me and my lab mates. For 1 week, we barely slept because we had to finish everything in time. Our lecturer was quite cruel, he would only set the deadline day for each things only a day before, and that made us even  in extra hurry. Plus, to the fact that he is really strict, we had to do lots of rewriting again and again. Like for the thesis and resume(a summary of our thesis), we submitted them early in the morning after a sleepless night, and I only got to go back to my room at about 830am which I threw myself straight on the bed. Only after just about 1 hour of sleep, I got a call from my partner telling that the thesis and resume are already returned back, and with tons of red marks, meaning lots of rewriting to do. And, know what, the deadline is after lunch on that same day! Rasa nak gila!! Fortunately we eventually survived  we are still sane till today..

.

My research partner, that`s my place on the left

.

My 2 other lab mates

.

What helped keeping us awake..

.

Our source of entertainment

.

It was really our home for a week..

.

After all those hard times, finally the presentation day came. I can say that I did well(from my own evaluation) and so do my other lab mates. From all the students, we were the 3 last one to present and I still remember the feeling after finished presenting on that day. It was hmm..I don`t really know how to say it, but I felt very ‘light’, like something big and heavy was taken away from your shoulder. At that time, everyone was smiling widely as we knew that we now can wait peacefully for our graduation day with no more worries..=)))

.

The returned resume…

.

…with many red marks..

.

Yesterday, a week after our presentation day, we went back to the lab to clean up all our things there. Being there, I somehow miss the days when we do our experiments and the days where we struggled finishing our thesis with our panda eyes. Though it was quite hard, especially for my two lab mates who did the other 2 themes as they did everything starting from scratch, it surely did give us new experience and we do learned many things from it. Though we may never see each other again after this, I hope that every each one of us and our other classmates will be success in whatever we do and wherever we are in the future. 皆さん、お疲れ様でした!m(-.-)m

.

Gonna miss this place…

.

.

Leave a Reply

